House Republicans Elect Two New Assistant Leaders

Today Reps. Jeff Smith (R-Okoboji) and Walt Rogers (R-Cedar Falls) were elected as House Assistant Majority Leaders.

As assistant leaders, Smith and Rogers will work with the leadership team to set the agenda for the House Republican caucus. Working directly with the Majority Leader and leadership team, the two will relay information to fellow representatives, while also serving as a point-person on key legislative issues

Both were first elected to the Iowa House in 2010.

“Reps. Smith and Rogers are valued assets to the House. They bring a great deal of insight and leadership to our caucus,” said House Majority Leader Linda Upmeyer (R-Garner).

Smith and Rogers were elected by their Republican colleagues Tuesday. They join House Assistant Majority Leaders: Reps. Dave Deyoe (R-Nevada), Renee Schulte (R-Cedar Rapids), and Matt Windschitl (R-Missouri Valley).