House Republicans Select Leadership

Leaders (Medium)

(DES MOINES) – Today House Republicans elected a new leadership team to lead the caucus into the 2016 legislative session.

Rep. Linda Upmeyer (R-Clear Lake) was selected as Speaker of the House.  First elected in 2002, Upmeyer is currently serving her seventh term in the Iowa House.  She previously served as the House Minority Whip for two years and most recently the House Majority Leader for the last five years.  When not serving in Des Moines, she is a nurse practitioner.  Upmeyer is the first woman to be elected Speaker of the Iowa House.

Rep. Upmeyer will replace Rep. Kraig Paulsen (R-Hiawatha) who announced earlier this month that he will not seek reelection next year and will resign as Speaker prior to the 2016 legislative session.

Rep. Chris Hagenow (R-Windsor Heights) was selected as the House Majority Leader.  Hagenow is currently serving his fourth term in the House after being elected in 2008.  He has previously served as Chairman of the House Oversight Committee and served as House Majority Whip since 2012.  He is an attorney and founding partner of the Des Moines law firm, Whitaker, Hagenow & Gustoff, LLP.

Rep. Joel Fry (R-Osceola) was selected as House Majority Whip.  Fry is currently serving his third term in the Iowa House after being elected in 2010.  A small business owner and farmer, he previously served as an Assistant Leader.

Rep. Zach Nunn (R-Bondurant) was selected as an Assistant Leader.  Nunn is currently serving his first term in the Iowa House.  He is a small business owner and currently serves as Vice Chairman of the House Economic Growth committee and the House Education Appropriations committee.

“It is an honor to be selected as the next Speaker of the Iowa House and lead my caucus going into 2016,” said Rep. Upmeyer.  “House Republicans are united and ready to return to Des Moines next January to continue crafting a budget that lives within our means and spends less than the state collects, just like Iowans do every day.  House Republicans will also continue working to create a friendly business climate, strengthen Iowa families, and finding ways to make government smaller and more efficient.”

“I am humbled to be chosen by House Republicans as their new Majority Leader,” said Rep. Hagenow.  “I look forward to the 2016 session where House Republicans will continue to make Iowa a great place to live, work, play, and raise a family.”

Rep. Matt Windschitl (R-Missouri Valley) will remain as Speaker Pro Tempore and Reps. Lee Hein (R-Monticello), Jarad Klein (R-Keota), and Walt Rogers (R-Cedar Falls) will all continue their current roles as Assistant Leaders.

The changes are effective immediately with Speaker-elect Upmeyer slated to assume office at the beginning of the 2016 session.